HAP Supports Changes to Ensure High-Quality Care for Trauma Patients > Hospital Association of Pennsylvania


Login to view your account.

Don't have an account? Click here.


HAP Supports Changes to Ensure High-Quality Care for Trauma Patients

March 14, 2019

Pennsylvania’s 41 trauma centers provide highly skilled teams of medical specialists to provide care during and after traumatic events, such as motor vehicle crashes, falls, gunshots, fires, and assaults. To preserve the high-quality care being provided at Pennsylvania’s trauma centers, Representative Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster) and Representative Michael Schlossberg (D-Lehigh) introduced House Bill 786 this week.

The legislation would:

  • Require that hospitals receiving future Level I and II trauma center accreditation must be greater than 25 miles away from a neighboring Level I, II, or III trauma center. This 25-mile restriction has existed since 2004 for Level III trauma center applications
  • Establish the same volume criteria for Level II adult trauma centers as for Level I adult trauma centers (600 patients) since both levels required the same optimal level of patient care
  • Revise the funding formula to allow for reallocation of undistributed Level III trauma center money to Level IV trauma centers in rural counties as defined by the Center for Rural Pennsylvania. Currently, Level IV trauma centers do not receive funding through the EMS Act. This is expected to increase development of a broader trauma network in underserved areas

Due to the types of complex, life-threatening injuries they treat, Pennsylvania’s trauma centers need stable funding to continue to provide their the staff, equipment, and education necessary to meet the standards required of the designation.

HAP and Pennsylvania’s trauma centers support these recommendations in House Bill 786 and will work with policymakers as this bill moves through the legislative process.

For more information, contact Kate Slatt, senior director, innovative payment and care delivery; Stephanie Watkins, vice president, state legislative advocacy; or Timothy Ohrum, vice president, grassroots advocacy.

« Close